Hi, I'm Mike.  I guess since you're here, you would like to know something about me.

Well, I was born in 1960, so with this end of the century, I  turned 40.  Although I don't feel that old.  At least, not most of the time.  (Ok, time for a quick update.  I just had another of those nasty birthdays.  Now I'm 41, what a disheartening thought.  Oh well, I guess it's just time to forget about age and live.)

I am really very shy.  Although, you might catch me on ICQ and I will gladly chat with you, I am not very outgoing.  So, I am normally the one standing in the corner, if you see me out.  I really envy those people who can just walk up to a stranger and start up a conversation.  I am getting better.  10 years ago, I would barely even answer if someone talked to me.

I was born and raised here in Kansas City and after this long it's time for a change of scenery.  I would love to move to the west coast, where the weather is stable.  Be close to the ocean and to be able to go out and have some fun. A lot of people ask me why I would want to move.  It is basically, after living here my whole life, I feel I am in a bit of a rut.  When you start to exist instead of live, it is time for a change.

I'm a chemist by education.  But my job is a little of everything.  I work for a chemical company in Kansas City as the lead tech person.  I'm also the local network administrator, Quality Assurance Representative and internal audit coordinator.  What a combination.  I also do some pc and network consulting on the side.  All of this keeps me pretty busy.  I actually used to love my job, but as with everything, change occurs.  The company has gone through a major metamorphosis in the last 14 years, and it is no longer the fun place it used to be.

I love to travel.  I have had the opportunity to go abroad a couple of times and would like go again.  Seeing different cultures is very exciting.  You don't realize how different, and similar, we are until you experience it first hand.  I went to Thailand twice and to South Korea once.  All on business, but was still able to get to know some of the people and see the sights.  If you have the chance to go, I would strongly recommend it.  I still want to see Europe and Australia, but finances won't allow that right now.  But one of these days......  I have visited most of the states in the US.  Only 11 more to go.

Of course, I'm also a computer geek.  What started out as just a hobby, has become much more.  I'm constantly trying to learn new aspects of this fascinating industry.  I would still like to get certified.  Even though I am a network administrator, I have had no formal training.  Just 12 years of experience running the system.  First Novell Netware and now Microsoft NT/Back Office.

My roommate got me started throwing darts.  It is one of his first loves, and it is fun.  I'm just not very good.  I also enjoy going out with friends.  There is a local entertainment area here in KC, called Westport.  It got its name from the original settlement here in the area.  I usually stop there after work and have a drink or two and say hi to everyone.

Well I can't think of anything else right now.  So, as time goes on, I'll try and update this with more info.


Last updated:  October 13, 2000